Facebook (Create a Facebook Assignment)

I have been using Facebook for about 7 years. I created an account as soon as they opened their membership to several colleges. I continue to be a fan of Facebook because it is a quick and easy way to keep in touch with people. With your account you can post status updates, photos, install applications, etc. I wasn’t crazy about the fact that they opened it to High School students, but you can adjust your privacy settings so your profile cannot be seen by everyone. This is what I do, as for some reason the students are always searching for their teachers!

For this assignment instead of doing another profile, I experimented with the Page feature of Facebook. You can create a page for bands, politicians, organizations, etc. and store them on your own profile page. I never worked with Pages before and found that depending on the type of page you create, the amount of peronal biography information you can input fluctuates. I created a Page for Atticus Finch under an empty profile I made for this class. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my favorite novels, and I also have the pleasure of teaching it to my students. None of the images from the film version of To Kill a Mockingbird were copyright free, so should you search for him, it is the one with a picture of a courthouse. Instead of requesting a friendship, as you do with normal profiles, for pages you become a fan. Please feel free to become a fan!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

